Girl Meets Bulgaria

Musings of an American expat in Bulgaria (with detours in Utah and Alaska)

1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die

Leave a comment

As I am a huge fan of reading and all things “list-y,” I thought this list of 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die, was pretty interesting. Although, there were some omissions that I thought were odd.

Anywho.

I skimmed through it and it seems that I have only read about 20 of the 1001 books.*Gasp*

I got a Kindle 3G for my birthday and have already downloaded over one hundred books, most of them from the out-of-copyright, pre-1923 category as they are free. I am on a very tight budget right now (saving for my move to Bulgaria and my wedding), so free is perfect for me!

I suppose it also helps that I am a big fan of the “classics” anyway. Jane Austen is my favorite.

A good portion of the 1001 books on the list were written before 1923.

I know it’s a little early to be setting New Years resolutions and goals, but I’m doing it anyway!

My very realistic and obtainable goal for 2011 is to read at least 12 more books from the list. Should be easy-peasy as there are at least 12 that I have been meaning to read for a long time anyway.

I have to just say that I REALLY love my Kindle! I have always been a reader, but over the past few years I was reading more textbooks than novels. Now that I am done with school, I want to get back into the habit of reading instead of watching TV. Already I am doing it. I am almost done with North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell, though I still watch more TV then I’d like.

So there we go, the first of many 2011 resolutions/goals!

W.

Leave a Reply

