Girl Meets Bulgaria

Musings of an American expat in Bulgaria (with detours in Utah and Alaska)

Spring-like Weather and Plans for March

Leave a comment

The gorgeous spring-like weather today in Smolyan has me itching to get out of the apartment. Unfortunately, I’m a bit swamped with work, so I am forced to live vicariously through the many kids playing in the snow outside our living room window as well as the older folks milling about talking and going on walks while taking advantage of the sunshine.

Even with sunny and warm weather predicted for the next week or so, I think everyone here knows how unreliable the forecast can be. Gotta enjoy it while we still can.

Signs of spring are all over, however, and I could not be happier. I have yet to buy any martenitsi, but I will soon enough.The hard part is going to be picking out which red and white pretties I really want. There are so many to choose from that I usually end up getting too overwhelmed and leave the task of buying them for another day.

Vince and I are excitedly planning our travels for next month. I’ll be leaving at the end of March for a month-long visit home in Utah, then it’s another summer working in Alaska. Which means, by the time I get back in late-fall, Bulgaria will yet again be in the grips of cold and snow. March better wow me with warm weather, blue skies, and colorful scenery. Or else… 😉

One of the best things about living in Bulgaria is the many festivals and events held throughout the year. Luckily, there are quite a few in March and I hope we can hit up a few of them. We are definitely attending Shiroka Laka’s Kukeri festival, known as Pesponedelnik, the first weekend in March. I’d also love to go to the Sofia International Film Festival. The movie Avé looks really good, but I have no idea how to go about getting tickets. If you do, please comment and let me know!

Other travel plans {hopefully} include Koprivshitsa, Veliko Tarnovo, and possibly a visit to somewhere on the Black Sea coast.

We had originally planned on a short trip to either Turkey or Greece, but I’d rather spend our time and money seeing more of Bulgaria.

I thought we would have been able to travel around more than we have this winter. When I was here in 2009, it barely snowed at all and we were constantly out on adventures. Fickle weather. Pfff.

Anywho, here’s to the arrival of spring and more explorations of my new home country!

W.

P.S. My Twitter is hoppin’ lately. I’m thinking about renaming my link in the sidebar, Whit’s Twits. Ha ha.

You should meet me over there!

Leave a Reply

