Girl Meets Bulgaria

Musings of an American expat in Bulgaria (with detours in Utah and Alaska)

229 Parks: Another Go-Round

Leave a comment

Last season, after hearing all of the rave reviews, I visited 229 Parks with some friends.

It was AMAZING.

I have been meaning to go back since the season started, but its location (about 20 miles from where I live) coupled with the relatively high prices prevented me from going…until tonight.

***

229 Parks is an incredible restaurant and tavern located at mile 229 on the Parks Highway, just outside Denali National Park.

They specialize in offering only the freshest organic and sustainable ingredients, most of which are grown in the owners’ own gardens.

Think fresh edible flowers, micro greens, and perfect herbs served alongside grass fed beef, duck, and lamb. Their fresh Alaska seafood is also a big draw.

Their website is bare bones and they don’t post a menu online because it changes daily and depends largely on the ingredients they have on hand. It’s not a flashy place. They rely on their unique food, fresh ingredients, and cozy atmosphere.

I played the part of tourist tonight (much to the chagrin of my co-diners, I am sure) and took photos of each course.

I had to start things off with a yummy wheat beer.

For a starter I had fresh Alaskan Rockfish tacos

Handmade soft corn tortillas, pan-seared rockfish dusted with cumin and lime, shredded local greens, creamy adobo sauce, house made salsa, fresh avocado, and lime.

I couldn’t pass up the Alaskan King crab entrée.

Tender Alaskan King crab sautéed with leeks, cayenne, fresh dill, and butter. Served folded into lemon semolina pasta, topped with a carrot beurre monter, sugar snap peas.

For dessert I went back and forth between the devils food cake and whoopie pies. I originally intended to get a delicious fresh berry tart (which I have already had multiple times this summer), but they were sold out. I eventually decided to go with the whoopie pies and chocolate malt.

Mmm. Mmm.

***

Every bite was pure heaven.

If you are in the Denali Park area, I highly recommend you stop at 229 Parks.

W.

Leave a Reply

